Organizing Journey

Hi,

I know a lot of people know how to clean and organize, de-clutter and contain all the stuff they own. I’m pretty good about organizing and containing my stuff… not so good with de-cluttering. I’ve been working on it though. I’ve been working on it for over a year. It has been slow. Incrementally slow.

When I was younger we would move every couple of years or so. That is when we would do a major clean out of the house. So, I got used to that… Fast forward a decade and I’ve accumulated a ton of stuff.

I never really ‘got’ spring cleaning. I understood that people liked to clean their houses in springtime, sure, but I didn’t understand that it meant more than a deep cleaning of the carpets and wiping the cabinets down.

With not really having to pack everything into ‘X’ amount of space and ‘Z’ number of boxes… I just kind of hung onto everything that I’ve collected over the years and didn’t really think much of it. Now that I’m starting to see the problems I’ve been having and the relation to clutter – I’ve been doing something about it. Yay!

For someone like me – who became accustomed to the whirlwind of activity that included moving – decluttering is super slow. You don’t have 2 weeks to 1 month of straight, dawn to dusk, packing to do. So, it feels like you just get on a roll and doing your thing & you have to quit. So frustrating!

I’m having to relearn how to clean and organize. Learning how to make myself do just a little bit at a time. House maintanence wasn’t an issue. It is all this STUFF. Random things that I used to use all the time and now they collect dust.

STUFF- Seriously Tacky Unused Fu Fu. LOL. 🙂 Acronyms… aren’t they lovely?

It is hard to let go of all this S.T.U.F.F. I mean… You remember how much you paid for that sweater and you used to love to wear it! BUT  it doesn’t fit, it is taking up your valuable space, time, effort (& there by $$$$$). What I mean by it is taking up your money by taking space, time and effort is: If you are moving it around, it is sitting somewhere you could use the space for something you actually use. It is taking time to move it from one place to another (multiply that by the number of items you are doing this with on a daily basis). And the effort thing; if you are looking at it and it makes you feel bad or sad. Now- YOUR TIME IS VALUABLE!!! Or as I’ve heard before: Time is money. If you are spending a minute on moving something from one place to another over and over again and do that with, let’s say… 20 items. Say you do that maybe 5 times in a day every week minus weekends (Sat&Sun). That is 5x5x20 minutes that you’ve just wasted on moving stuff about. That is 500 minutes or about 8 hours every week.

Let that sink in… 8 hours you could be doing something you love to do. Relaxing. Spending time with friends and family. Creating things with the stuff you actually use.

Someone else could use it. You don’t love to wear it anymore.

Leave a Reply

